Naplwrimo: Character Quiz

7 Nov

I personally believe that all good writing comes from good characters. One week into Naplwrimo, we should all know just a little bit about our characters. But unless we know them well we’re going to hit rocky ground sooner or later. If we can’t predict exactly how they’d respond in any situation, if we don’t know them as well as we know our best friends, well, then we’re not doing our jobs properly.

And so, for a brief diversion from your scripts, here’s a quick character quiz for you – and the answers given by Jack, one of my leads.

1. Where do you live?

a. everywhere and anywhere, currently sleeping on a sleeper couch at my sister’s place in Oxford.

2. Describe a present you received as a child that really meant something to you?

a. When I was ten, my granddad gave me some binoculars, small brass ones. They opened up new worlds to me, and I still take them wherever I go.

3. What do you do when you’re stuck in traffic?

a. I’m hardly ever in traffic, so it’s a bit of a novelty. I watch other people.

4. Describe the last time you cried?

a. It was a couple of weeks ago, we went to this temple in Malaysia somewhere, and we got there at dawn, as the sun started hitting the tops of the stones. So freaking beautiful.

5. What do you think is your best attribute?

a. People trust me instinctively. I gather stories and secrets wherever I go, and I keep them all.

______

Please share your answers, I’d love to “meet” some of your characters…

Leave a comment