Why every artist in Cape Town, South Africa, and the World should be online. Now.

15 Mar

We crossed the rubicon a long time ago, folks.  It’s too late to be asking IF we should be engaging online, about the only question left to us now is HOW.

You can facebook, tweet, blog, post you tube clips, put mp3s in sound cloud, list your plays on Doollee, or livestream. You can do this all for free. So WHY, my good people, WHY are you not doing this? Why are you still throwing your money after beeyootifully designed posters no one will ever see?

Let me tell you something I learned when auditioning actors. Most of you don’t know how to audition. You know how to act, oh hell yes. But you walk in the room, and you launch into your monologue. Most of you don’t give me a cv, headshots, make small talk. You haven’t researched me, or the play you’re auditioning for. And by researched, I mean “hit Google and spent five minutes looking at the results”.

So now think of the industry as one big audition. You probably are a little savvy. You know you need to be seen at opening nights. And workshops. You comment on the work of people you admire, so that they register your existence.

Well, hello. Let me introduce you to web2.0, the opening night to which you’ve all been invited.  The doors have been opened wide, and so many people are standing outside having that last cig, and gazing at the rest of us in bewilderment. The industry, the bigshots, the theatres, the festivals, they’re out there. They’re ready and willing to engage. Now, more than ever before, you can see and be seen, from the comfort of your own couch. For free. And yet people are chosing not to come to this party. People are, when being offered this chance, deciding, meh, sod it, I don’t want in after all.

Now, I realise the irony of blogging this. Because most of you who bother to read blogs, you’ve already got a foot in the door. BUT. Our recent artist survey found that most people who are online, don’t have any examples of their work online.  So you’re getting yourself in the door, but then you haven’t prepared your monologue. A while ago, I submitted some monologues to a site called notmyshoes. A fabulous and amazing woman runs it, and looks after it, and promotes it, and she is a hero. Through that site, I started getting queries.  A few. Then more. Now about two or three a day.  The internet is working for me. And last year I got a call from a theatre, because an actor had auditioned using a monologue from my play, and they wanted to see the script, and now I have a production deal. I didn’t know, when I emailed that monologue to Kellie late one night, that two years later it would lead to a production. But I got my foot in the door AND I had something to show for it.

This is the big picture, people. I’ve been travelling a lot recently. I am reminded, no, I am struck full force in the face time and time again, with how talented our artists are. You ARE. You could hold your head up on any stage, anywhere.

This has not all been a punt for the CTLive Festival. But I was reminded of this all during the blogging workshop Luca Vincenzo ran for us this morning. He urged us to be personal in our blogs. This is ME. And, luckily, I am passionate about the project I am working on.

And so now, with PANSA‘s ctlive1.0 festival, under the stewardship of the awesome Sanjin Muftic, we’re running 100 stages and you. YOU. These stages are there, ready and waiting. Your audience is there, ready and waiting.

DO SOMETHING.

One Response to “Why every artist in Cape Town, South Africa, and the World should be online. Now.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #6 – next stage is only online « CTLive1.0Festival - March 15, 2011

    […] the rest of the reasons for Why every artist in Cape Town, South Africa, and the World should be online. Now. on her […]

Leave a Reply

