Why I’m not that WTF about the LOL and OMG issue

26 Mar

So, this week, OED added LOL and OMG to its list of “real words”. I can’t really recall when people started saying “LOL” out loud. I have a bit of an aversion to Lol, there are very few people who I feel use it well, both on and offline.

But I’m glad that they are in OED, because what it means is that we are reflecting the evolution of language. As with all else, language is not a static concept. It is a living thing, it lives in the mouths of those who speak it.

This is Chaos Theory in action – any living thing must exist on the edge of Chaos. You move too quickly, you fall over the edge and you die. Move too slowly, you stagnate, and you die.

LOL and OMG may indeed be the VERY edge of chaos, but it’s a good place for our language to be going. When Belieber hits the OED, that’s when I’ll scream armageddon and hit the emergency chocolate stores.

2 Responses to “Why I’m not that WTF about the LOL and OMG issue”

  1. Mvelase March 31, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Oh I *do* understand the Chaos Theory reference. I was most intrigued by that.

    • karenjeynes March 31, 2011 at 11:47 am #

      For a far more eloquent and detailed take on the subject, read Mvelase’s article

      🙂 references to Chaos Theory however, remain here! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

