Deadlines are a girl’s best friend

1 Feb

It is a truth universally to be acknowledged that a writer in possession of a good idea must be in want of a deadline. It has just been proven to me, yet again, how important that mythical line in the sand is. Without it, I can take ages tweaking, editing, faffing. With it, I become a lean mean focused writing machine. I have written 106 pages in the last week. And it felt good – the same burn people claim from gymming, that’s what I feel from intensive writing.

So I am seeking deadlines – and obviously ones attached to productions, payments and contests work best, but I’ve also recently discovered a writer’s group with a weekly “check in” – and consequences if you don’t reach your goals. Collaborative projects are also a lovely incentive, because of the responsibility you feel to someone else.

And then there’s the unmitigated joy of scheduling. I have to go and schedule February now. Yay, spreadsheets!

Leave a Reply

