Drip. Drip. Drip.

8 Dec
It’s almost the end of the year, just one more script left to write, and then I can hang up my satirical pen until January. But before I do, there’s something I want to talk about.
It’s something that affects me pretty much every day of my life. And I don’t normally bother talking about it, because, truthfully, there are more important things to worry about.
Imagine if you had a drip over your desk, and once a day a drop fell down your neck. It’d annoy you, but you wouldn’t focus on it, just brush it off and move along. Maybe one day there’d be a couple of drops, but never enough to make you get up and do something about it.
As a woman who dares to have an opinion, and tries to be funny, I am harassed online by men every day. It ranges from mild antagonism to rape and death threats.
It’s exhausting.
Just yesterday, something I wrote caused rather more drips down the back of my neck than usual – three hundred and nine rape and death threats. Three hundred and nine men who took time out of their busy day to threaten me.
Yes, these people are idiots.
Yes, they’re not worth my time and energy.
Yes, men get threats too, although not generally the rape ones.
But it’s exhausting.
I have no answers here. No solutions.
I know for sure that I’m going to keep having opinions, and trying to be funny, and I’m definitely not shutting up. I know for sure that there are people in this world that I want to rile, that I want to make uncomfortable. And if I succeed, these people will probably threaten me.
But it’s exhausting.
3 Responses to “Drip. Drip. Drip.”

  1. dehelen December 8, 2015 at 11:34 pm #

    Karen, I’m so sorry this is happening to you. I totally relate, as I faced death threats for my humor column in the university newspaper when I was the first woman to write for the paper in its 104 year history. People had to actually mail their letters to the editor back then. But when someone found out where I lived, they egged my house, drove by shouting threats, and scared me pretty good. That was 1974/75. So men have not evolved much in the ensuing years, have they? Now they can spew their hatred, ignorance, and violence without leaving their chair. Hang in there, you are loved and your writing matters.

  2. Johanna Miklos December 9, 2015 at 12:08 am #

    Yikes. Do you then send them thank you notes for reading? In a real world where writers get paid to write, they would be a part of your income stream. Would they – pay?

  3. Megan December 9, 2015 at 6:57 am #

    I find this so absurd, revolting and incomprehensible.

Leave a Reply

